Cashmere Summit

beautiful + crafted + life

DIY Washer & Dryer Pedestal

3 Comments

When Rene and I found the house we are currently living in we found out that the washer and dryer would not be staying, therefore the search was on for a new washer and dryer.  I’ve been wanting front loaders for a while, and Rene happily agreed (since I do the laundry he didn’t have that much leg to stand on to say no).

I knew I wanted to make my own pedestal for them, as the ones at the store cost $250 EACH, yeah, there was no way I was paying $500 for them.

I found plans on Ana Whites Site that worked well for us.  We hit up the HD for all our lumber, screws, ect, and got to building.  I didn’t need mine to be open for storage or baskets as I have cabinets above the washer and dryer anyways (that I can’t reach, so my soap/softener ect just sit on top – downfall of being short).  So we went ahead and covered it up.

I went to Lowe’s and got a roll of the paintable wallpaper, cut to size, followed the directions and put it up…super easy (if your ever hesitant about it).  I also got two strips of wood, 8×2(maybe 1 1/2)x 1/4″ (I think), cut those down to size and framed the front and hide the top seam of the wallpaper.  I glued that on and went to town with Rene’s air compressor staple gun.

I then filled all the holes and the seams in the wallpaper with wood filler (and I have to admit using the wood filler on the wall paper made me nervous, but all went well).  Once that was fully dried I sanded it to a smooth finnish and painted.

I’m rather impressed with how it came out, and all the materials probably cost around $200 for everything (we have leftover wood too) so you can’t beat that, and I also know based on how well we build it, it will hold my 300+ pound W&D just fine.

-Raelynn

Author: Raelynn

Born in small town South Dakota, raised in Sin City Las Vegas, now living in Mile High Denver...life is my adventure and I'm sharing it here, one project, one recipe, one day at a time.

3 thoughts on “DIY Washer & Dryer Pedestal

  1. That’s so impressive! It looks great 🙂

  2. good job….does the man in the picture get royalties…hehehe

Leave a comment