Linguine with Spicy Shrimp

Leave a comment

I saw this recipe in Real Simple it popped out, and I knew I had to make this, Rene and I love pasta, and he loves shrimp (I like, but prefer it in the form of shrimp cocktail, something about it served warm just doesn’t excite me).

Here’s what you’ll need:

3/4 pound linguine

1/4 olive oil

1 1/2 pounds peeled & deveined large shrimp*, tails removed

2 cloves of garlic (I used way more)

1/2 tsp crushed red pepper

salt

2 bunches of watercress, torn (about 6 cups)

1 tbsp lemon zest

What you’ll do:

~Cook the pasta according to the package directions, stopping just short of al dente. Reserve ½ cup of the cooking water; drain the pasta. Wipe out the pot. (I reserved 2 cups pasta water, because I live on the edge like that)

~Heat the oil in the pasta pot over medium-high heat. Add the shrimp, garlic, red pepper, and ½ teaspoon salt. Cook, tossing occasionally, until cooked through, 3 to 4 minutes.

*This is where I strayed off the path, I added a tsp ginger, and tsp lemon-pepper seasoning

~Reduce heat to medium and add the pasta, watercress, lemon zest, and reserved cooking water and cook, tossing, until the sauce coats the pasta, 1 to 2 minutes. (I did not use the watercress)

 

~Serve and enjoy….

*Remember, with shrimp the smaller the number the larger the shrimp

-Raelynn

Author: Raelynn

Born in small town South Dakota, raised in Sin City Las Vegas, now living in Mile High Denver...life is my adventure and I'm sharing it here, one project, one recipe, one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

