Fresh Fruit Macaroons

1 Comment

I still can’t believe that I, Raelynn, have been eating food with coconut in it!

photo

I’ve never been a fan of coconut, but trying to eat better, and work on my Paleo cooking/baking, coconut has been a major factor. And it hasn’t bothered me one bit, I’m rather enjoying it.

And using the FastPaleo app/website rather often, the recipe for these popped right up.

They used just the raspberry or a blueberry variation on the site, but as I was making the raspberry, Rene suggested why I don’t use some mandarin’s we just purchased at Costco…smart idea.

Here’s what you’ll need:

1/2 cup fruit of choice, such as raspberries, strawberries, blueberries, mandarins…ect…

2/3 shredded coconut

1 tbsp raw honey

1/2 tsp vanilla

Chocolate for dipping*

IMG_4034

What you’ll do:

~In a food processor, mix (I used the “pulse” feature) fruit until its become a liquid (the raspberries were a nice thick, paste like consistency, mandarins were “runnier”)

IMG_4036

~Add coconut, honey and vanilla, mix until fully combine (coconut oil does not need to be melted)

IMG_4037

~You can use your hands, I went with a scoop – scoop out mixture onto a wax paper lined cookie sheet, freeze

IMG_4039

~Once frozen, melt chocolate in a double boiler (or microwave, make sure to stir every 30 seconds so you don’t burn your chocolate)

IMG_4040

~Dip and coat each macaroon, place back on wax paper and freeze until set, or when ready to serve. You’ll have to work fast, as they being to “thaw” rather fast, since the coconut oil doesn’t allow for a full freeze, so maybe take out a few at a time, while the others stay in the freezer.

Enjoy…

image

I think dipping them in chocolate makes them look like little truffles, full of yummy goodness!

image

*And yes, I know chocolate is not “Paleo” but it’s okay in moderation.

-Raelynn

Author: Raelynn

Born in small town South Dakota, raised in Sin City Las Vegas, now living in Mile High Denver...life is my adventure and I'm sharing it here, one project, one recipe, one day at a time.

One thought on “Fresh Fruit Macaroons

  1. I have read several just right stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for
    revisiting. I surprise how a lot effort you place to create the
    sort of magnificent informative website.

Leave a Reply

