Work For iT: CrossFit

Leave a comment

Summer of 2012: I’ve heard of CrossFit, didn’t sully understand what it was about.

wod

August 2012: A co-worker joined the CrossFit right down the road from work, I asked her about it, and she told me I should come with her and try it. So, I did!

A few days later…HOLY GUACAMOLE I WAS SORE!!

For now, I am unable to do this...soon, I will!

For now, I am unable to do this…soon, I will!

And I haven’t stopped going since!!

ITS AMAZING…

ITS HARD

IT PAYS OFF

ITS 100% BETTER (in my opinion) THAN A REGULAR OL’ GYM

sub

The low down:

~Your there for an hour, at a set time they have a class

~You warm up together, and do the WOD (WorkOut of the Day) together

~Your trainer helps you, gives you advise on form, and what you should be doing to get in a better workout, and avoid injury, they MOTIVATE you!

~Once you finnish your time is recorded (I write all my workouts & times down in my CrossFit book)

~You go home, and go back tomorrow

'

CrossFit will push you to do things you probably don’t think you can do

They will modify a WOD for your strength, an injury, ect…

The other members and trainers are super helpful, and no one stands around judging…no “tools” in this gym!

ec

I’ve been going for 4 months, and I don’t think I’ve ever done with same WOD twice…yes, I’ve done plenty of burpees, wall-balls, snatches and toes to rings, but never in the same sequence….

pe

Take for example yesterday was “Angie” (some WODs are named) it consisted of:

100 Pull-Ups – 100 Push-Ups – 100 Sit-Ups – 100 Squats….I finished in 26:30 and was BEAT…SORE…TIRED….and then I went back today!

Yes, I pay more than you pay at a regular gym, I’ve broken it down, I pay $6.50 a day (going 5 days a week), I can go 6 x a week, but I give myself off Sat & Sun, and let me tell you that $6.50 workout, is 100 times more gratifying than a hamburger meal at a fast food joint..ANY DAY OF THE WEEK!

If you are looking for something fresh, and new, please go, try it, what do you have to lose, besides what you want to lose..the weight.. Give it a month.. don’t go one day and say its not for you, try for a month…and see the change!!

Go…find a CrossFit near you….and thank me later!

P.S. ¬†And no talk about being “too old”, we have members of our CrossFit in their 60’s…NO EXCUSES!

?

Raelynn

 

Author: Raelynn

Born in small town South Dakota, raised in Sin City Las Vegas, now living in Mile High Denver...life is my adventure and I'm sharing it here, one project, one recipe, one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

