Homemade Tomato Sauce

1 Comment

Rene and I first made this sauce recipe about two years ago, after a family trip to So. Dak left us with a nice box of tomatoes.  We didn’t use any recipe we found via the web, we just know what we like for seasonings, and we went for it.

**I made a pretty large batch which yielded me 8 quart mason jars.**

Rene and I hit up the farmers market (one of the MANY) here in Denver….great produce was found….I’ll be going back, soon (well Saturday, since that’s the only day)

Here’s what you’ll need:

25 lbs of tomatoes, washed, I don’t remove the skin or seeds
3 tbsp Italian seasoning
1/2 cup basil
3 tbsp oregano
2 1/4 whole white onion
10 tbsp sugar
2 1/2 tbsp salt
3 tbsp pepper
2 1/2 cup red wine
1 1/4 cup olive oil

*Feel free to add in fresh garlic, I forgot to add it this time, but the sauce still taste great

What you’ll do:

~Blended tomato’s, and onions (if you like your sauce smooth; if you like chucks (like a pomodoro sauce…my fav) cut the tomatoes up small, and onions cup even smaller and cook).

~Let that sit on the stove on med-low heat and simmer, after about an hour and a half.

~Take the lid off so it can reduce. Let it sit for two or three hours and check it out. (adjust seasons if you feel necessary).

~I took the immersion blender to blend the basil, and any chunks of tomato the blender missed

Unblended & Blended

~Can your sauce, I’m no expert in canning, so do some research on this, I have a way I do it, but I’m pretty sure it’s not the “correct” way, but it works for me, and I get the same results.

Enjoy…

-Raelynn

Author: Raelynn

Born in small town South Dakota, raised in Sin City Las Vegas, now living in Mile High Denver...life is my adventure and I'm sharing it here, one project, one recipe, one day at a time.

One thought on “Homemade Tomato Sauce

  1. This sounds really delicious, Raelynn! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

