DIY Wrought Iron

3 Comments

Now, I’m sure you’ve all seen this or heard of them out in blog-land.  Last year at some point I decided I wanted to give this a go, and started saving all the paper towel/toilet paper holders I could get my hands on, and in hindsight, I’d suggest only saving the paper towel ones, as they are thicker, therefore a bit more on the sturdy side.

This was a super easy project, but I won’t lie…very time consuming.  But I like the look if gave us in the end, so I’m happy!

What you’ll need:

A BUNCH of paper towel cardboard holder thingies…

Glue, I used wood glue

4 pieces of Poplar wood – I used 1/2 x 2 x 4

Brad nails

Wood Filler

Spray paint

Patience and time…lots of it

What you’ll do:

~Flatten the cardboard rounds down, I put my in between heavy books, I wanted to have those creases nice and crisp

~If you have a paper slicer, use it, and cut all the cardboard rounds to the size you want, some of mine came out bigger than others, but I like the variation it gave. I probably have anywhere from 1/2″ to 3/4″

~Glue two end together, if you have tiny clams, use them, or do like I did, and hold….go buy some of those clamps, well worth the money! Repeat..

~Take those two pieces together, and glue to the other piece, so now you’ll have a bit of a “four-petal flower” look…let drum…

See how once glued they get that “flower” look….Ok, good….I swear I had more pictures, in-between the new computer switch over, it looks like I lost photos…bummer

~Lather, rise, repeat…OK don’t lather or rinse, just repeat…over and over and over….

~I made enough to have 2 pieces and 6×6 each so 36 each…so 72 total….wheeew…

~Once all your “flowers” are made, glue them together in rows, as I said I did 6 in each row.  Repeat this step again, and then a few more times after that.

~Once all rows are dry, glue those together, once this is complete, let it dry, COMPLETELY. (And since we were about to move at this point, mine got about 5 months worth of drying time – I started this the end of JANUARY…yes, I know, I am a procrastinator)

~Since mine were 6×6’s they were about 20″ x 20″…cut your boards, you’ll need 4 x 20″ and 4 x 21″ (gotta account for the 1/2″ thinkness that you’ll need).

~Glue one side of the cardboard piece to the wood, spanning the whole 20″ length, let dry, and glue the other 20″ piece on the opposite side.

*If you have a brad nailer, use it, you won’t need long nails for this either. *

~Nail the 21″ long pieces into the 20″ piece on both ends, and then repeat.

~Now carefully place some glue down to hold the cardboard to those 21″ length pieces.

~Once again, let dry completely

~Use some wood filler to fill the holes from the nails, I also used it to fill in the rough end from where I cut the wood.

~Once that dry’s sand down to a sooth finnish.

~Take outside and give it a light coat of spray paint.  I used Rust-oleums Hammered in Black.  Make sure to get the coat at all angles.  Let dry…

~Flip over and coat the back side.  Once it’s completely covered well, let it dry overnight.

~Hang the up and admire your DIY skills.

-Raelynn

Author: Raelynn

Born in small town South Dakota, raised in Sin City Las Vegas, now living in Mile High Denver...life is my adventure and I'm sharing it here, one project, one recipe, one day at a time.

3 thoughts on “DIY Wrought Iron

  1. That looks great! I don’t know if I have the patience, but maybe someday.

  2. good job Lynnie!!!

  3. Wow! What an amazing transformation!

Leave a Reply

