Orange Chicken

3 Comments

Going vegetarian has been hard, I’m certainly not gonna lie about that.  But, I have not had pork and beef since February!!  I’m pretty damn proud of myself for that.  Eating seafood (I have a new love for smoked salmon), and chicken, here and there!

Last night in my pondering ways trying to figure out what to make for dinner I decided I wanted rice more that anything, so I thought I would make Orange Chicken, Rene loves it, as do I, (from Panda, that is) so we’ll see how my rendition goes.

What you’ll need:

2 chicken breast, cut into 1″ size pieces

3 cups cooked white rice

2 cups flour

2 oranges

1/3 cup Orange Sauce

1/2 tsp ground ginger

2-4 tbsp soy sauce

salt and pepper to taste

oil for frying

What you’ll do:

~Cook your rice, I use a rice cooker and always melt about 3 tbsp butter, a splash of lemon juice, and about a tbsp sriracha sauce, mix that in with the water and add to rice.  Turn on the cooker and your done with that!!

~Place flour in a gallon size zip locking bag, zest both oranges into the flour, add salt and pepper to taste.  Add chicken and those to coat.

~Heat frying oil to 350, and cook chicken in batches to not over crowd the pan, drain on paper towel.

~Once all chicken is cooked, place a bit of oil in a wok on medium/high heat, add chicken, orange sauce,  juice both oranges, and ginger, and fry for a few minutes to coat all chicken with the sauce.

~Add rice to the chicken and pour soy sauce on, mix and serve.

The verdict:  Rene loved it, said it was better than the version he had made a month or so back.

Enjoy…

-Raelynn

Author: Raelynn

Born in small town South Dakota, raised in Sin City Las Vegas, now living in Mile High Denver...life is my adventure and I'm sharing it here, one project, one recipe, one day at a time.

3 thoughts on “Orange Chicken

  1. Sounds delicious!

  2. I’d like to try that recipe with dark meat, maybe even on-the-bone chicken backs. Looks very tasty.

  3. Now I’m starving! Great post!

Leave a Reply

