Churro’s

Leave a comment

Who doesn’t love churro’s?   And when I made these for Rene years ago, he loved them, and ask’s me to make them every so often.  I usually don’t, I somehow manage to get out of it, but not with a happy husband, so I finally gave in the other day and made some for him.  He was happy, all is well….

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 cup water

2 1/2 tablespoons white sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons vegetable oil

1 cup all-purpose flour

2 quarts oil for frying

1/2 cup white sugar, or to taste

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

And what you’ll do:

~In a small saucepan over medium heat, combine water, 2 1/2 tablespoons sugar, salt and 2 tablespoons vegetable oil.  Bring to a boil and remove from heat.  Stir in flour until mixture forms a ball.
~Heat oil for frying in deep-fryer or deep skillet to 375 degrees. Pipe strips of dough into hot oil using a pastry bag*.  Fry until golden; drain on paper towels.
~Combine 1/2 cup sugar and cinnamon. Roll churros in cinnamon and sugar mixture.

* I usually just use only the pastry bag (no tip), and they come out “dough-ie” Rene likes them like this, I however do not.  Use a star tip to give them the shape your used too (from fairs, carnivals, and of course Costco), they should cook much more inside and make for a happy me churro!

Enjoy…

-Raelynn

Author: Raelynn

Born in small town South Dakota, raised in Sin City Las Vegas, now living in Mile High Denver...life is my adventure and I'm sharing it here, one project, one recipe, one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

