Tarte Fine

Leave a comment

My mom left puff pastry in my freezer from our trip to South Dakota, and since I have a box of yummy Colorado peaches, I used them instead of apples, and it was good (this coming from someone who doesn’t like fruit baked and served warm)!!

 

Here’s what you’ll need:

3 medium-size firm sweet apples, preferably Golden Delicious*
Squirt of fresh lemon juice
1 sheet (about 8 ounces) frozen puff pastry, preferably all butter (see above), thawed
2 teaspoons milk or heavy cream
1 large egg, beaten with about 1/2 teaspoon water, for egg wash
3-4 teaspoons sugar

1/3 cup apricot jam, for glazing

*Yup that’s right, I’m not following directions, again!  I used peaches, mostly because I can.

What you’ll do:

Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

Peel the apples, slice them in half lengthwise and core them. Cut the apples halves in half again and cut about 7 lengthwise slices from each quarter. Put the slices into a bowl and toss them with the lemon juice.

Use this same method for whatever fruit you’ll be using….

On a sheet of parchment paper or a silicone baking mat, roll the sheet of puff pastry out into a rectangle that is about 9 1/2 x 10 1/2 inches. If the dough is warm, cover it with a piece of plastic wrap and refrigerate it for about 20 minutes. If it’s still cool, just lift the paper or mat and place it on a baking sheet. Arrange the apple slices in slightly overlapping rows on the pastry, making sure to leave a border of 1/4 to 1/2 inch bare. Brush the borders lightly with the milk or cream, then brush the egg wash over the apple slices. Sprinkle the apples and the borders with the sugar.

Bake the tart for 30 to 35 minutes, or until the pastry is puffed and golden around the edges and the apples are soft and brown at the borders. Remove from the oven. If you want the edges of the apples to be even darker, you can run the tart under the broiler; be very careful not to overbake the pastry border. (To avoid burning the edges, you can cover the perimeter of the tart with aluminum foil.)

So like a doh-doh I didn’t cover my edges, but I also feel I left it in the oven for the time Dorie suggested and it was about 10 minutes too long for me, so the edges are a bit burnt crunchy 🙂

Boil the jam with a smidgen of water until it liquifies, then brush the glaze over the apples (if the jam has any chunks of apricot in it, avoid them).

See a bit dark on the edges, but, none the less it was good!

Serve the tart hot or warm.

-From Baking: From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan

*another side note, I made this last year so for those wondering how I got good peaches in January, I didn’t, Im just a procrastinator!

Enjoy…

-Raelynn

Author: Raelynn

Born in small town South Dakota, raised in Sin City Las Vegas, now living in Mile High Denver...life is my adventure and I'm sharing it here, one project, one recipe, one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

