Miss Bonnie’s Tiramisu

3 Comments

Sometimes at work, we talk about anything but, and when one of my favorite Engineer Andy, and I were talking about desserts we liked, I mentioned my love for Tiramisu, and he of course went on to tell me that his mom makes the best, so I asked if he could get the recipe form her, and what seemed like months later he delivered.

Naturally, I went to the store that night to gather the few supplies I knew I didn’t have on hand; the ladyfingers, mascarpone cheese, and I was in need of more heavy cream.

I’ve seen some recipes call for Grand Marnier, this one calls for rum, and this girl has rum on hand, no doubt about that one.. 🙂

Here’s what you’ll need:

6 egg yolks

3/4 cup sugar

1 lbs Mascarpone Cheese

2 cups chilled heavy whipping cream (dont buy from Whole Foods, ughhh their expensive and did NOT produce the results you’ll need…failure)

2 tbsp rum – Myers Dark Rum was used and a “little extra” splashed into the bowl…oops!

1 tsp vanilla extract

2-3 cups brewed espresso

5 egg whites

40-50 ladyfingers….buy extra, I ended up needing more, and didnt go get them, I dont mind a big spoonful of just the cheese filling, so a small portion of the dish was just that…yum!

cocoa powder

Here’s what you’ll do:

In a mixing bowl set over, but not touching, pan of simmering water, beat the yolks and sugar until the mixture is pale yellow and thick ribbons fall from the whisk, about 4-5 minutes.

Transfer yolk mixture to the bowl of an electric mixer, add mascarpone cheese and beat until smooth and creamy, 2-3 minutes.

In another chilled large mixing bowl, beat the heavy whipping cream to stiff peaks.

Add the rum, vanilla, and 2 tbsp of espress and beat until smooth.

In another clean mixing bowl, beat the egg whites to stiff peaks. With a rubber spatula, gently fold the mascarpone mixture into the cream until blended and smooth.

Add about 1 cup of beaten egg whites and fold gently until blended, then add the remaining egg whites, and again fold gently until smooth and blended.

One at a time, submerge ladyfingers into espresso and line them in a 13×9 dish (should be at least 2 inches deep). Continue until a single layer is formed.

Spread a layer of cheese mixture onto ladyfingers, using no more than half the mix.

Again, dip ladyfingers into espresso and line on top of the cheese mixture. Once another complete layer is formed, smooth out remained cheese mixture on top.

Dust Tiramisu with cocoa powder completely.

Refirdgerate for at least 4 hour or up to a day before serving.

I few things: make sure your whipping cream, and egg whites get to a stiff peak, mine did, but not enough (I think), Once I cut into the Tiramisu it seemed to fall, and not hold its shape, like what you’d see in a restaurant. Either way I love it, it has great taste, and makes me one happy chick!!

See how she's a bit runny....still so good though!!

Miss Bonnie, thanks for the recipe, I enjoy every bite. Also, just so you know (and he did didn’t pay me off) you have a wonderful son, you should be so proud of him, Andy certainly makes our day at work a lot more fun. And he’s always reliable for help, smart boy you’ve got!!

Enjoy…

-Raelynn

Author: Raelynn

Born in small town South Dakota, raised in Sin City Las Vegas, now living in Mile High Denver...life is my adventure and I'm sharing it here, one project, one recipe, one day at a time.

3 thoughts on “Miss Bonnie’s Tiramisu

  1. Well thank you so much for all of the sweet compliments about my son, he is a good guy. About the tiramisu, it isn’t always easy to make the consistency right, sometimes it works, sometimes, not so much, but always a good flavor!! Your pictures are great!!

    So glad you like to cook, it is fun!!

    Bonnie

  2. What! You made tiramisu and didn’t bring it in to work to share!! Outrage! 🙂

  3. LOL….I actually did bring it to work on Friday, and I forgot about it, but did manage to bring it home….so I’ve been enjoying it!!

Leave a Reply

