State Subway Art

Leave a comment

I’ve seen subway art all over the web, it’s a great way to really personalize your art, or even give as a gift (for a wedding, per say, which I’ve done).

I hadn’t really thought about what I would make, or even how to go about it, until the other day when a fellow cohort at work told me about his wife’s blog called Writing This Life, so go check out Anna’s blog and get your read on…..go on, go, but finish reading first!

(This is Anna’s version, which I adore.  If you haven’t been to Minnesota, you must go, and fly, and make sure you have a window seat to see why it’s the “Land of 10,000 Lakes”…..MN is gorgeous!)

She had just posted about a piece of art she made and it was in the shape of her home state, Minnesota, my home state neighbor.  And I was smitten, and she made it herself on Picnik.com….say what?!  I haven’t heard of this site, I must check it out, and then I thought, YAY I can make some “Subway Art” of my own, in my states.  So I got busy….making art, get your mind out of the gutter!

Here’s what I did:

First you need an out line of your state from 50States.com, then head on over to Picnik.com and get working. 🙂

The Nevada and South Dakota one’s do have some blur’s in them, since I don’t think it’s particularly of interest to you of the address in which my dad lives (my childhood home) and the home I owned in Vegas.  And I also made one of California since that’s where my BFF/Partner in Crime/Husband AKA Rene is from.  And of course Colorado, our new home.

Picnik.com saves your work right to your computer, which is nice, but, it’s saved in a low resolution, which I discovered when I sent them to Shutterfly.com to print and they suggested the largest I go with them was a wallet size, no thank you.  And since I’m a Mac, I just opened my art work with Preview went to “Tools””Adjust Size”in the “Width” space put in 3872 (the Height will automatically correct when you enter in a new width) and the “Resolution” to 240, click Enter and then save you file, I added “good” to the end of my file name since it will add another picture to my desktop (where I saved them) so I know which one I need to be using now.  I then uploaded the good one to Shutterfly.com and it said it was good to print up to a 20×30….which is OK in my book!  I printed 8×10’s and I’m planning on getting 11×14 backless picture frames for them.  I’ll make sure to post a few pictures when they’re all finished and hung on the wall!

The great thing about these, is that you can make them completely custom, which mine are, so if you too are from the wonderful state of South Dakota, can’t use mine, sorry, unless you of course were born on Mar 16 ’82 and are from Huron and your a daddy’s girl and have a nephew named Kobe.  The California addition is completely about Rene, and the Nevada is about our life together, wedding date, dogs name, and things that have meaning to us.  And Colorado is the start of a new life for us.

So go make your own, and have fun and be creative.   These would also make great gifts too.

-Raelynn

Author: Raelynn

Born in small town South Dakota, raised in Sin City Las Vegas, now living in Mile High Denver...life is my adventure and I'm sharing it here, one project, one recipe, one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

