Enchiladas de pollo con salsa verde

1 Comment

Or chicken enchiladas with green sauce….

I love chicken enchiladas, with my mother in-laws green sauce, AWESOME!!!



What you’ll need:
7-8 Tomatillos
1/4 white onion
6-8 garlic cloves
Water
1 1/2 tsp Chicken Bullion
1-4 Serrano chilies
1-4 Anaheim chilies
(with the chilies buy based on the heat level you want, I used about 4-5 of each this time, and it was HOT)
**** I wouldn’t use jalapeno, their flavor is too distinct ****

Chicken, I use the rotisserie chickens already cooked at Costco, or the grocery store.
Corn tortillas
Monterrey Jack cheese
oil for frying

What you’ll do:
~Take husks off tomatillos and place in a large pan covered with water, add onion, garlic, bullion, and chilies (steams cut off, and scrape of seeds if you don’t want the sauce too hot), bring to a rolling boil.  Let reduce for 20-40 minutes (sometimes I leave it longer, as you can add more water if you need it).
~Once nice and hot, pour into blender and VERY CAREFULLY blend, remember most blenders done like hot liquids, so use caution.



~Check for thickness of sauce, if it fairly thick, and a bit of water at a time, blending between each addition.
~Once you get to the desired consistency, place a 1/2 cup of sauce in pan, place on low heat.

~With a smaller (omelet sized) pan pour a small about of oil, and heat, you wont even need enough to completely submerge the tortilla.

*** Have an assembly line set up and ready to go ***
Tortillas
Pan with oil
Pan with sauce
plate
shredded chicken
cheese
~Fry tortilla, you don’t want it crispy (like a tostada), but you don’t want it soft (because it will rip), make it an “in betweener”.

~Transfer to pan with sauce, submerge.


~Place on plate, add chicken (just a little bit) add cheese (if you like it…I pass on this) roll up…


~Repeat steps….


~When you have all the enchiladas you want, pour more sauce on top, add more cheese, and I place in the oven with the boiler on just to melt the cheese.


Sour cream, avocado and pico de gallo are all great on these, but use what you like, either way enjoy.  And if you have picky kiddos, fill ’em with cheese, and they’ll love them!!

My mother-in-law has placed hard-boiled egg on top occasionally, and I will admit, I was a bit weirded out by that, but I didn’t want to be rude so I ate it with the enchiladas, and now I LOVE it….weird I know, but so good!!!

Either way, I hope you enjoy….

Raelynn

Author: Raelynn

Born in small town South Dakota, raised in Sin City Las Vegas, now living in Mile High Denver...life is my adventure and I'm sharing it here, one project, one recipe, one day at a time.

One thought on “Enchiladas de pollo con salsa verde

  1. You got a very excellent website, Sword lily I discovered it through yahoo.

Leave a Reply

